Let them eat….. BREAD!

Our first successful loaf of gf bread!

Our first successful loaf of gf bread!

I love bread.  I love to bake.  Having the time and energy to make all I’d like to is a whole different matter, we won’t go there.  But, I really love the process, the art, the patience and magic of baking bread; getting your hands in it, the mixing, kneading, rising, waiting, rising again and….. OH, the heavenly aroma of a nearly done loaf in the oven!  It slowly floats into every room of the house and draws you to it.  Can you smell it?

Now, with four kids in the house we eat a lot of sandwiches and go through a ton of bread.  Really, a ton!  So, when we began switching to gluten-free, nearly a year ago, bread was one of the first things on our list.  Let’s just say that was a slow process.  I’ll be the first to admit that finding a gf loaf that compares to our lovely, soft, tasty wheat loaf was a challenge.  It wasn’t until we moved in May and I had a golden opportunity to clear the pantry of everything wheat and start us fresh with gf-everything that we really got serious and quit ‘giving in’ with the bread.

Where we live now is a high altitude desert.  I can’t even count the number of failed loaves and muffins I made in the first month or two here.  Truly, I nearly gave up but decided to try a box mix to get us through until I could tweak a loaf from scratch and get it right.  Enter, Gluten Free Pantry’s Favorite Sandwich Bread mix.  No changes for high altitude and that lovely loaf bakes perfect every time; perfect density, soft, holds up, flavor.  Up here this one does take longer than stated to rise but you’ll hear no complaints from me.  There are also no complaints from the kids.  This is a beautiful thing!  I don’t get to dig my hands in and knead but there is that captivating, salivation inducing aroma of freshly baked bread in the house.  Makes me smile every time!

